The University of Memphis

University Holidays


Issued: October 2, 2006
Responsible Official: Vice President for Business & Finance
Responsible Office: Human Resources

Policy Statement

Policy StatementThe University of Memphis will observe eight paid holidays and five paid administrative closing days each year.

Official holidays will be designated by the President in accordance with the Tennessee Board of Regents. The Department of Human Resources will be responsible for the annual publication of holiday schedules.

The University will not close for non-teaching employees except on the eight holidays and five administrative closing days. Cancellation of classes does not constitute a university holiday.


 To provide time off from work for university-designated holidays.


University Holidays

The following eight days will be designated as official holidays: 

New Year's Day
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Spring Holiday
Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day

Designated holidays occurring on a Saturday or Sunday normally are observed on Friday or Monday as determined by the University.

In addition to these eight holidays, the University will observe an additional five administrative closing days. The selection of these days must be coordinated with the Academic Calendar template. Certain days, such as the Friday after Thanksgiving Day and those during the week of Christmas when classes are not in session, may be designated as days of administrative closing each year by the President.



Where can I find the schedule of University Holidays for this year?The Holiday Schedule is available on the Human Resources web site, at

Revision Dates

 UM1241 Rev.1 -- updated October 2, 2006
March 22, 2002 (Working Policy Number: 1241)

Subject Areas:

AcademicFinanceGeneralHuman ResourcesInformation TechnologyStudent Affairs